Bhagavat Dharma/Dasakuta



(Shri.PurandarDasaru And Meerabai, singing glory of Shri.Krishna)

The word Bhakti is derived from Sanskrit word root "Bhaj" added with the affix "Klin".Bhakti means the service to the Lord.Bhakti is the feeling of developing adoration for the Lord in the devotee`s(Bhakta`s) heart.The highest form of Bhakti does not crave for the fulfillment of any desire and is unconditional.Bhakti is a divine love illuminated by a full knowledge (Jynana)of the Lord in it.Jynana and Bhakti are two aspects of path-way to realization of soul and the supreme.Both are corelated.There can not be any devotion without affirm and adequate knowledge of the object of devotion nor any pursuit of knowledge can be there without the urge of love for Lord.Many original mantras in the Rigveda(admitted as the oldest literary monument of the world) are roots of Bhakti..We also come across the devotion towards Lord in Upanishads.Bhakti is a direct development of the upasana or fervent meditation.There are nine stages or forms of Bhakti.

Navavidha Bhakti

"Shravanam,Keertanam,Vishnoho Smaranam,Padasevanam,    Archanam,Vandanam,Dasyam,Sakhyam
(SrimadBhagavata.7- 5-23-22)

or stage
of Bhakti
Meaning Name of the Bhakta (Devotee)
1.Shravanam Audition Parishkit
2.Keertanam Recapitulation Shukamuni
3.Smaranam Rememberance Pralhad
4.Padasevanam Service at the
feet of the Lord
5.Archanam Worship(Pooja) Pruthu
6.Vandanam Salutations with Praise Akrura
7.Dasyam Service(Seva) Anjaneya
8.Sakhyam Friendliness Arjun
9.Atmanivedanam Surrendering

ಹರಿಶ್ರವಣ ಕೀರ್ತನ (Audition of Hari Keertan)
ಹರಿನಾಮ ಸ್ಮರಣ(Rememberance of Harinama)
ಹರಿಪಾದಸೇವನ(Service at the feet of Hari)
ಹರಿಪೂಜಾ ವಂದನ (Worship and Salutations with Praise to Hari)
ಹರಿದಾಸ್ಯ ಸುಖ್ಯತ್ವ(Service and Friendliness to Hari)
ಹರಿಗಾತ್ಮಾರ್ಪಣ(Surrendering OneSelf to Hari)
ಹರಿಭಕ್ತಿಯೆ ಮುಕ್ತಿ ಪಥ.(Hari devotion is the path to salvation)
ತತ್ತ್ವ ಪುರಂದರವಿಠನೆ ಪರಮಾತ್ಮ ಸಿದ್ದ ವರಮಧ್ವಮತ ಶ್ರುತಿ ಸ್ಮೃತಿಯೊಳ್ ಪ್ರಸಿದ್ಧ
|| ಶ್ರೀ ಪುರಂದರದಾಸರು.

There are two classic authority on the philosophy of Bhakti.

  • Narada BhaktiSutras (Book of Aphorisms on Divine Love)
  • Shandilya BhaktiSutras (Enquiry into Divine Love)

  • Narada`s BhaktiSutras states
    eleven stages/forms of Bhakti, while SrimadBhagavat states nine.

  • 1)Gunamantrasakti
  • (2)Rupasakti
  • (3)Poojasakti
  • (4)Smaransakti
  • 5)Dasyasakti
  • (6)Sakhyasakti
  • (7)Vastalyasakti
  • (8)Kanyasakti
  • (9)Atmanivedanamsakti
  • (10)Tan mayasakti
  • (11)Paramvirahasakti